Uninsured Motorist Lawyers Help Injured Drivers in San Jose, Sacramento and San Francisco
Advice on insurance issues from a top-rated California legal team
Car, truck and motorcycle accidents become even more traumatic if you discover that the other driver is uninsured or underinsured. If you suffered serious injuries in the accident, you are rightfully worried about how you are going to recover compensation from the uninsured or underinsured driver. At Needham Kepner & Fish LLP, we have more than 100 years of combined experience practicing personal injury law. We know how to deal with accidents involving uninsured and underinsured drivers.
How underinsured and uninsured insurance coverage works
If you are in an accident with an underinsured or uninsured driver or are the victim of a hit and run driver, you can still receive compensation. When you buy auto insurance in California, you get uninsured motorist coverage unless you specifically refuse it in writing. By maintaining this insurance, you and your passengers are covered if an accident with an uninsured driver causes bodily injury. If you are in an accident with an underinsured driver and have underinsured motorist coverage, your own insurance company covers what the other driver’s policy doesn’t. For example, if your medical costs are $30,000 and the other driver’s insurance covers only $15,000, your own underinsured-driver coverage pays the remaining $15,000.
When you file an uninsured motorist claim with your insurance company, you suddenly become an adversary in the insurer’s eyes — even though you have been paying premiums for this coverage for years. Our San Jose lawyers have practiced both defense and plaintiff’s personal injury law during their long careers, so we know the tactics auto insurance companies use to delay, deny or underpay claims.
Your insurance policy should cover you after a hit and run
You’ve been injured in a car crash, and the other driver fled the scene. Who’s going to compensate you for your injuries? Your uninsured motorist coverage should cover your injuries if you are in an accident with a hit and run driver. Under California law, it’s a hit and run if there’s contact between your vehicle and the other driver’s, and the other driver doesn’t stop.
Call for advice from a respected injury firm
When an auto accident disrupts your life, Needham Kepner & Fish LLP helps you win compensation so you can move on. To schedule a free consultation, contact us today at 1-408-956-6949 or online. We handle injury cases on a contingent fee basis, which means that you pay us nothing unless you recover compensation.